Major League boys finish state tourney winless

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

It turned out to be a tough stay at the state tournament for the LaCoMo East Major League baseball all-stars at Columbia.

LaCoMo East fell 14-3 to Daniel Boone in its final pool-play game, meaning LaCoMo East finished 0-3 in the event.

Daniel Boone broke out on top 5-0 in the top of the first inning. LaCoMo East re-bounded to get one in the bottom half.

LaCoMo East trimmed the lead to 5-2 after two stanzas, but Daniel Boone broke away with one run in the third, two in the fourth and six in the sixth. LaCoMo East scored its last run in the bottom of the fourth.

Trailing 5-0, LaCoMo East got a walk to Austin Werths, who stole second base, an infield ground-out by Jordan Schlueter and a steal of home by Werths for its lone run in the first frame.

Dillon Caton started the second inning with a walk. De-rek Woodall also drew a free pass. After Noah Sleeper struck out, walks to Dillon McVey and Dalton Visentine forced home Caton.

LaCoMo East missed a golden opportunity to get back in the game, leaving the bases loaded when Schlueter struck out and Wade Heimsoth flied out to left field.

Deven Templeton, substituting for Woodall, drove a double to start the bottom of the fourth for LaCoMo East. He stole third, but Sleeper fanned. An infield ground out by Werths produced the run.

The inning continued with a walk to Dalton Visentine and a base hit by Schlueter, but Heimsoth struck out to end the threat.

Walks to Woodall, who stole second and third, and Sleeper, who swiped second, opened the LaCoMo East sixth. After Werths whiffed, Visentine walked to load the bases. However, Schlueter popped out to shortstop and Heimsoth grounded out, pitcher to first, to end the game and the season for LaCoMo East.

Bargfrede, who was the losing pitcher, Sleeper and Werths all toed the rubber for LaCoMo East. No other information was available at press time.

Note: Daniel Boone went on to win the tournament, advancing to the Central Regional in Indianapolis, Aug. 6-14. It is in the tournament with five other teams from Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Kansas and North/South Dakota, according to the Little League Web site.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: