Lafayette County part of 14 counties considered for emergency funding

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon has submitted applications to federal officials in Washington to appeal that a 14-county area in Missouri be declared a disaster area, due to damages caused by extensive rainfall this year.

Nixon sent the application -- which includes Lafayette County -- to officials in Washington late last week, Lafayette County Commissioners reported. It is unknown how long it will take for a response from Washington.

If the area is declared to be a disaster area, it may qualify for emergency funding to assist in repairing road and infrastructure damages that have accumulated since the excessive rainfall began in May.

The governor has submitted two different applications for disaster assistance, Lafayette County Presiding Commissioner Jim Strodtman said.

One application asks for general classification as a disaster area. Nixon has also submitted an application for the same area to be classified as an agricultural disaster area, which would draw emergency funding to compensate for agricultural losses from flooding and other water damages.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: