Thieman, Tolias earn first-team all-state honors

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

The Missouri Football Coaches Association released its all-state football selections late last week, with 16 I-70 Conference players filling 17 slots on the three teams in Class 1.

Making the first-team grade from the Concordia Orioles, who finished 13-1, losing in the Class 1 semifinals to eventual state champion Valle Catholic, were junior offensive lineman Jamie Thieman and senior linebacker Tyler Tolias.

Joining the two Orioles on the first team were senior wide receiver Blake Seitz and senior defensive back Dylon Register of Wellington, which lost to Westran in the Class 1 semifinals and finished 12-2 overall.

Orrick, which slipped to 6-5 and lost in the regional round of the Class 1 playoffs, placed senior running back Logan Eubank and senior defensive lineman Jordyn Butler on the first team.

The Orioles filled three openings on the second team, led by juniors Luke Kapala and Collin Werths on offense at running back and athlete and junior Josh Kock at defensive lineman.

Santa Fe, which finished the season 8-3, losing to Tipton in the regional round of the Class 1 playoffs, placed senior offensive lineman Tyler Wilkinson on the second-team offense.

Joining Wilkinson on the offensive line was Orrick senior Cameron McGlothlin.

Wellington sophomore linebacker Brett Schaberg was selected to the second-team defense.

The only selection to the third-team offense from the I-70 was Wellington senior Clayton Wieligman.

Santa Fe junior William Laws at end and senior linebacker Ross Tieman were third-team selections.

Werths was a repeat award winner as he also was selected to the third-team as a returner. Joining him as a special-team, third-teamer from the Orioles was senior kicker Carter Brown.

Westran's senior Tyler Hunt, the first-team pick at quarterback, was the Offensive Player of the Year.

Valle Catholic, which defeated the Hornets 22-21 in overtime for the state championship, had the Defensive Player of the Year in senior Luke Uding and the Coach of the Year in Judd Naeger.

No Saint Paul players were selected to the Class 2 teams.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: