Lafayette County Tournament starts Monday

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Four of the six teams participating in the 18th annual Lafayette County Basketball Tournament are from the I-70 Conference. Up until last year when the Wellington Tigers held off Higginsville for a 58-57 victory, the boys' side of the event had been dominated by the Missouri River Valley Conference teams, mainly Higginsville, which had won five straight titles.

Top-seeded on the boys' side this year is Wellington, followed by the Huskers, San-ta Fe, the Concordia Orioles, Saint Paul and the Lexington Minutemen.

The Tigers, Concordia and the Saints are in Pool A, with Higginsville, the Chiefs and Lexington making up Pool B.

Pool games are Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Thursday next week is an open date, to be used if inclement weather intervenes.

The consolation final is set for Jan. 7 at 6:30 p.m.

The third-place and championship games are set for Jan. 8 at 1 p.m. and 4 p.m., respectively.


The championships on the girls' side of the tournament have been dominated by the I-70 Conference. Concordia, which returned to the top rung after a two-year absence, has won five titles. Wellington won the championship in the inaugural year of 1994 and in 1996 and 1999. Santa Fe won in 2002 and 2003 and Saint Paul in 1998.

Before dropping out of the event, Odessa captured the crown in 2000 and 2001 and Lexington won in 2008 and Higginsville in 2009 for the MRVC's four crowns.

The other two championships were taken by Hardin-Central in 2004 and Lone Jack, which only joined the I-70 Conference this school year, in 2005.

This year's pool play will run over three days, Monday through Wednesday. Jan. 6 is an open date, only to be used if there is inclement weather.

Concordia, which downed the Saint Paul Lady Saints 51-40 last year for the title, is the top seed. The Lady Saints are seeded No. 2, followed by Lexington, the Wellington Lady Tigers, Higginsville and the Santa Fe Lady Chiefs.

The consolation final and third-place games are scheduled for Jan. 7 at 5 p.m. and 6:30 p.m., respectively.

Jan. 8 at 2:30 p.m., the top two teams will square off for the championship.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: