I-70 Conference players earn postseason honors

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Postseason lists have been released by the Missouri Foot-ball Coaches Association, and the all-district and all-state squads are chocked full of I-70 Conference football players.

The Saint Paul Saints, coming off of their best season in school history at 9-2, placed two players on the Class 2 all-state team and five players on the Class 2, All-District 7 team.

Making the grade for all-district status were seniors Jon Foster (quarterback), Aaron Hentges (defensive end) and Isaiah Roepe (offensive lineman). Junior Gerhard von zur Muehlen (receiver and defensive back) and sophomore Luke Stuenkel (running back).

Both von zur Muehlen as a receiver and Hentges at defensive end also were named to the third team Class 2 all-state.

The Concordia Orioles, who finished 6-5 under the direction of first-year head coach Tom Gramates, placed six players on the Class 1, All-District 4 team.

Earning spots on the offense were junior Cass Heimsoth at running back and senior Kyle Wilson as a kick returner.

The Orioles placed four players among the defensive selections, including seniors Hayden Brown, Jordan Foster and Blake Smith along the defensive line. Austin Hon, a junior, was selected as a defensive back.

Brown and Hon also earned all-state status at those positions. Brown was picked to the Class 1 second team and Hon to the Class 1 third team.

The Santa Fe Chiefs, who were 4-6 under sixth-year head coach Andy Frerking, had four players selected to the Class 1 all-District 4 team, including seniors Manny Hernandez (offensive line), Cole Wodrich (offensive line) and Matt Bodenhamer (defensive back). Junior Alex Martinez was selected as a running back.

Hernandez nabbed a spot on the third-team Class 1 all-state team as an offensive lineman and Bodenhamer on the third-team defense as a defensive back.

Four Sweet Springs players also were named to the Class 1, all-District 4 team.

Earning spots for the Greyhounds, 2-8 under the tutelage of second-year head coach Melvin Baker, were senior quarterback Derrick Nelson and juniors Jeffery Hall (linebacker), Nathan Vogelsmeier (defensive back) and Heath Snider (offensive line).

The Wellington Tigers, who won their second straight I-70 Conference title (7-0) and a Class 1, District 7 championship before being beaten 35-14 in the Class 1 quarterfinal round by eventual state champion Penney (Hamilton) and finished the year 11-2, placed 10 players on the Class 1, all-District 7 team.

Earning spots for Quenton Bainbridge's squad were seniors Brett Schaberg (offensive line), Jacob Beckemeyer (quarterback), Christian Bryant (wide receiver), Jason Hil-den (linebacker), Justin Willard (defensive end), Blaine Beissenherz (defensive end), Jake Ruskey (wide receiver), Nick Gibbs (offensive line), Dustin Seitz (defensive back) and Quinton Hammond (defensive line).

Beckemeyer (quarterback), Bryant (receiver) and Schaberg (line) were first-team, all-state offensive selections, too. Willard and Hilden made the grade for third-team, all-state defensive status.

Lone Jack, which was 3-7 under the direction of first-year head coach Jason Fenstermaker, had six entries on the all-district team, including senior Jonathan Key (defensive line). Juniors Jake Hopper (defensive line), Landon Schroeder (punter), Angus Campbell (defensive line), Hayden Hall (defensive line) and Jake Hopper (running back) also were picked.

The Orrick Bearcats, who were 1-9 for a second straight year with Scott Finley at the helm, had four players named the all-district squad, including seniors Derrick Dennis (running back) and Hunter Guthrie (offensive line). Also getting picked were junior Ethan Tonepahhote (offensive line) and sophomore Tyler Crow (defensive line).

Valle Catholic junior running back Tyler Fallert was selected as the Offensive Play-er of the Year.

Penney of Hamilton's senior defensive end Kolby Reeder was chosen as Defensive Player of the Year.

The Hornets' Dave Fair-child was selected as Coach of the Year.

In Class 2, Holden senior Max Mickey was tabbed as Offensive Player of the Year, Lamar seniors Jade Morgan and Chad Rice as co-Defensive Players of the Year.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: